Let’s Talk About Sync, Baby

17

June 11, 2012 by Heidi

Sync YA Lit

It’s the most wonderful time of the year!!  Well, for audiobook lovers anyway.  This Thursday kicks off the start of the season where Sync provides free downloads of young adult and classic novels to make ears (and hearts) happy!

Skeptical readers are thinking: that’s nice, but I bet the titles suck.  Let me stop you right there and assure you they do not!  There are so many good titles this year, I’m up to my ankles in drool.  Each week pairs a recent YA book with a classic that’s thematically related.  Where else are you going to find access to Laini Taylor paired with Charles Dickons? Here’s the schedule of titles available, taken from the Sync website:

Schedule of SYNC Downloads

SYNC Titles
Summer 2012

June14 – June 20, 2012
The Eleventh Plague by Jeff Hirsch, Read by Dan Bittner (Scholastic Audiobooks)
The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck, Frank Galati [Adapt.], Read by Shirley Knight, Jeffrey Donovan, and a Full Cast (L.A. Theatre Works)

June 21 – June 27, 2012
Irises
by Francisco X. Stork, Read by Carrington MacDuffie (Listening Library)
Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen, Read by Wanda McCaddon (Tantor Media)

June 28 – July 4, 2012
The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud, Read by Simon Jones
(Listening Library)
Tales from the Arabian Nights by Andrew Lang, Read by Toby Stephens
(Naxos AudioBooks)

July 5 – July 11, 2012
Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake, Read by August Ross (AudioGO)
The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins, Read by Ian Holm (AudioGO)

July 12 – July 18, 2012
Guys Read: Funny Business by Jon Scieszka [Ed.] et al., Read by Michael Boatman, Kate DiCamillo, John Keating, Jon Scieszka, Bronson Pinchot (Harper Audio)
The Notorious Jumping Frog of Calaveras County and Other Stories by Mark Twain, Read by Norman Dietz (Recorded Books)

July 19 – July 25, 2012
Cleopatra’s Moon by Vicky Alvear Shecter, Read by Kirsten Potter (Oasis Audio)
Antony and Cleopatra by William Shakespeare, Read by a Full Cast (AudioGO)

July 26 – August 1, 2012
Pinned by Alfred C. Martino, Read by Mark Shanahan (Listen & Live Audio)
TBA(Brilliance Audio)

August 2 – August 8, 2012
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, Read by Khristine Hvam (Hachette Audio)
A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens, Read by Simon Prebble (Blackstone Audio)

August 9 – August 15, 2012
Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy, Read by Rupert Degas (Harper Audio)
Dead Men Kill by L. Ron Hubbard, Read by Jennifer Aspen and a Full Cast
(Galaxy Press)

August 16 – August 22, 2012
The Whale Rider by Witi Ihimaera, Read by Jay Laga’aia (Bolinda Audio)
The Call of the Wild by Jack London, Read by William Roberts (Naxos AudioBooks)

International listeners, don’t worry, many of these title will be accessible for you as well!  Just check out the list here to see restrictions.

I’m most excited to listen to Daughter of Smoke and Bone (though I’ve already read it), Anna Dressed in Blood, and Cleopatra’s Moon.  Will you be taking advantage of Sync this summer?  Let me know what titles you’re most anticipating putting in your ears!

Share

If you liked that you might like this:


17 comments »

  1. I bet Anna Dressed in Blood on audio is great! Just don’t listen to it before going to bed. Unfortunately, I can’t download most of the new titles due to international restrictions (they’re US and Canada only).
    Girl of Nightmares (Anna 2) is coming out pretty soon – it’s supposed to be the last book – and I’m really excited about it.

    • Heidi says:

      Oooh, I actually didn’t realize it was only going to be two books and not three. That has me much more inclined to read it! I’ve heard really good things about it, though yes, won’t listen right before bed. Big chicken.

      And I wish more of the titles were more international. It seems you mostly get access to the ones that are open domain reads anyway.

  2. VeganYANerds says:

    I’m so happy that you mentioned that some of these are avail. for international readers! I’m going to check this out, it sounds like such a good idea!

  3. I’m definitely checking out Anna Dressed in Blood and The Eleventh Plague! Thanks for bringing this to my attention! I have some driving to do, so audio books will be great :)

    • Heidi says:

      Yep! I love audiobooks for commuting, it’s amazing how much more ‘reading’ you can get done if you make use of idle time that way. Hope you enjoy them!

  4. I am totally going to check out ALL OF THESE! Although I am the most pumped about Guys Read.

    And okay, I lied, I sure as hell won’t read the L. Ron Hubbard because scientology scares me and omg did you see their booth at BEA? SCARYYYYY.

    • Heidi says:

      Hahaha, NO, I didn’t see it. I’m less likely to listen to that one because it’s full cast, which I’m not a huge fan of, but I’ll probably download everything just in case.

  5. I’m really looking forward to Skulduggery Pleasant, The Whale Rider (BvM possibilities…I think. Is that the book that Whale Rider is based on?), and would you believe that I’ve never read A Tale of Two Cities? There are so many good ones this summer.

    • Heidi says:

      I’ve never actually read A Tale of Two Cities either! I only know the first line. Kind of like Moby Dick.

      I would guess that the movie is based off this book? It honestly didn’t occur to me till you mentioned it, I kind of forgot that movie existed. I’m excited for Skulduggery Pleasant too! Even though I really don’t know anything about it but it sounds like a lot of fun! Though I’ll be picturing Skulduggery as Geoff Peterson in my head the whole time.

  6. Well, this is really exciting!! = )

  7. flannabanana says:

    I’m excited about a bunch of these. I listened to Eleventh Plague recently and the audiobook was…okay, but the story was not very riveting. Like April above, I won’t be listening to anything by L. Ron Hubbard. The rest of it sounds awesome though. I am so excited that hopefully it will be like a listen-along every week.

    • Heidi says:

      Yes! I hope so. I’m honestly really excited about some of the classic titles, especially the Mark Twain.

      Good to hear your feedback on Eleventh Plague. I figure I’ll download everything, and no biggy if I decide not to listen.

  8. You and April have been going CRAZY OVER THIS. So I totally downloaded the Eleventh Plague audiobook. I’m going to download Grapes of Wrath because I do want to read more classics, but I kind of hate Steinbeck so WE SHALL SEE.

    • Heidi says:

      I downloaded both this morning. The Grapes of Wrath comes out as less then 2 hours which is IMPOSSIBLE because that book is a chunkster, so I don’t know what’s wrong. It’s okay though, I honestly probably wouldn’t listen to that one anyway. Hope you like! April and I are both huge audiophiles. 😛

  9. […] This Is Not a Test by Courtney Summers Magic Dreams by Ilona Andrews Dust Girl by Sarah Zettel Let’s Talk About Sync, Baby BEA Wrap-Up With Bated Breath: BEA Edition Series Review: Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins Little House […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

RSS FeedE-mailTwitterGoodreads
TumblrFacebookBloglovinYouTube

My Current Bunbury

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Archives

FTC Disclaimer

While the source for each book I review is posted within its review, please assume unless otherwise stated that books reviewed on Bunbury in the Stacks were received free from the author or publisher in exchange for an honest review.
YAckers