Review: The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid Academy by Nikki Loftin

14

July 30, 2012 by Heidi

The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid Academy by Nikki Loftin book coverTitle: The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid Academy [Amazon|Goodreads]
Author: Nikki Loftin [Website|Twitter|Facebook]
Standing: Stand alone.
Genre:
Middle Grade, Fairy Tale, Horror
Published:
August 21st, 2012 by Razorbill
Format:
Hardcover; 304 pages.
Source:
ARC from publisher via NetGalley
Challenge:
YA/MG Fantasy Challenge

When my mom was alive, she read me stories every night.  “Use your imagination, Lorelei,” she’d say, “and your whole life can be a fairy tale.”  I wanted that to be true. But I should have paid more attention to the fairy tales.

Because not all of the children in them come out alive.  And sometimes there are witches hiding in the woods.

These are the first lines of Nikki Loftin’s The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid Academy, and all that it took me to be sold on Lorelei’s story.  Lorelei is an eleven year old girl, with more on her mind than all of the normal eleven year old anxieties.  A year ago, her mother died–was killed–and Lorelei knows in her gut that she is responsible.  Her brother blames her, and no longer treats her as a friend, the one friend she told hasn’t spoken to her since, and her father is too distant and busy with his replacement wife to care.  Lorelei knows her new stepmother, Molly, is a witch–but really, Lorelei doesn’t know anything about witches.  Yet.

When after only three days of construction the most miraculous charter school, Splendid Academy, appears not far from their home, Lorelei and her brother Bryan are delighted.  The playground is the most amazing thing they have ever seen–it has everything!  They want to go there very much, even if it is too good to be true, even if it appeared in three days.  Even if their former school just happened to burn to the ground forcing nearly all of the kids in the neighborhood to attend.  But it doesn’t take Lorelei long to learn that no matter how splendid things seem, something sinisterly sweet is happening at the Splendid Academy.

What I was certain was going to be a light, fluffy, fairy tale esque middle grade with shades of the dark fairy tales surrounding stories of Baba Yaga and Hansel and Gretel turned out to be much deeper and darker than I could have possibly anticipated.  When the kids enter Splendid Academy, they’re welcomed with free reign, optional assignments, and next to no rules save one–eat.  The kids are required to attend the school for not just lunch, but breakfast, have multiple snack times, snacks at recess, and endless candy at their desks.  It doesn’t take much of a mental leap (or a background in fairy tales) to determine that these children are being fattened up for a witch’s brew, but the manor in which this tale plays out is delightfully menacing and sure to make chills run down the spines of the kids who will read it.

Friends, even before we entered the doors of Splendid Academy, my heart was breaking for Lorelei.  She’d lost her mother only a year before, and is so certain she is not only responsible, but a murderer.  Add to that guilt the fact that she struggles immensely in school due to dysgraphia (at least she thinks it’s dysgraphia because her father hasn’t bothered to get her tested), a disability similar to dyslexia where instead of words getting jumbled up while reading, they get jumbled up while writing.  Lorelei can’t even read her own handwriting, and as a result she is labeled as an idiot who receives no special help.  Her father is already remarrying Molly, who to me sounds like the most odious woman alive.  At the wedding, Lorelei overhears Molly saying to the rector that she believes that it was God’s will that Lorelei’s mom died to make a place for Molly in their family.  If I ever overheard anyone say this sort of thing in real life, I’d probably walk up and deck them.

Through these harsh realities, Nikki Loftin creates an atmosphere where we are constantly torn between wanting Lorelei to escape her family, and wanting her to escape the fate that awaits her at Splendid Academy.  I love that I honestly didn’t know what choices I wanted Lorelei to make through to the very end.  I couldn’t blame her for her willful naivety when she only wanted to regain the feeling of being loved that she’d lost along with her mother.  I certainly couldn’t blame her for feeling pushed aside by her father and brother, and victimized by Molly who behaved so cruelly toward her.

Lorelei’s family and the staff at Splendid Academy aren’t the only cruelties she encounters.  We are, after all, talking about eleven year olds.  Lorelei makes a new friend at Splendid, Andrew, a boy who has struggled with obesity for life, and as such is more or less considered a social pariah.  Nikki Loftin addresses the reality that for kids, being overweight is similar to having a contagious diseases.  People avoid you, make fun of you, and certainly don’t include you.  Andrew is the perfect friend for a girl who is feeling outcast, as he understands completely.  Andrew has learned to control his hunger and cravings, and lost 40 pounds in the process.  Together he and Lorelei seem to be the only two children able to resist the delicacies served up constantly at school.

I am curious about the illustrations, if Nikki Loftin illustrated herself?  I didn’t see this stated anywhere, but nor was an illustrator listed.  I loved the cover art for The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid Academy, as I am a big fan of incorporating the text into the scene, and it certainly evokes the feeling of the book.  I didn’t feel as if the illustrations were particularly amazing, but they were cute and well incorporated into the story.

The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid Academy is deliciously dark.  The story holds a surprising depth of maturity and emotions, and is my favorite type of reminder that most fairy tales do not, in fact, end with ‘happily ever after’.

Likelihood that I’ll be back for more:  Um…yes! Please write more dark and wonderful Middle Grade, Nikki Loftin, please!

Recommended for:  
Fans of A Tale Dark and Grimm, Breadcrumbs, or those who love the dark side of fairy tales in general.  Honestly, I think this book is totally creepy, so it’s perfect for upper elementary school kids who love a bit of a scare (I do not think it is too scary).

Real life repercussions of reading this book:  Oh my goodness.  The food!  Reading The  Sinister Sweetness had me craving M&Ms, pop corn, cotton candy, marzipan, Skittles, you name it, this book has it.  By the end I was beginning to suspect that Nikki Loftin herself is a witch attempting to fatten up all of her unsuspecting readers!

Get a second opinion:
None of my bookish friends have reviewed this one yet! If you have a review of The Sinister Sweetnesslet me know.

Share

If you liked that you might like this:


14 comments »

  1. Alyssa says:

    I LOVE the first lines and love that this one is “deliciously dark!!”

    Umm…hi? “Fans of A Tale Dark and Grimm, Breadcrumbs, or those who love the dark side of fairy tales in general.” That has Alyssa written ALL over it! I am reading The Book of Lost Things right now and it is all kinds of awesome. Also features a dead parent and I teared up a tad. I need to check NG for this one immediately.

    Also, “If I ever overheard anyone say this sort of thing in real life, I’d probably walk up and deck them.” Me too, my friend.

    • Heidi says:

      Yeah, amazingly enough hearing people say (about my mom) “It’s all in God’s plan” for so many years didn’t make me hate God, it just made me hate all of those people who think that way. Thankfully MY stepmother is the most wonderful woman in the world and never tried to replace anyone!

      I really think you’re like this one! I don’t think the story or writing was as strong as Breadcrumbs, but it was still really good and had surprising depth.

      Also excited to see your thoughts on The Book of Lost Things! That’s one I’ve wanted to read for a while. =)

      • Alyssa says:

        When Matt was murdered people said the same. “Everything happens for a reason,” and “God works in mysterious ways,” Um, get out of my face before I punch you in the face, thanks.

        So far The Book of Lost Things is really riveting. I am enthralled and also slightly creeped out which you know I love!

  2. John Connelly’s The Book of Lost Things? As in, one of my favorite books of all time, forever and ever and ever? That I was just thinking about earlier today, and thinking I’m ready to re-read? Or a different one?

    Sorry, I got sidetracked.

    This looks fantastic. I read a very short review of this a couple of days ago that wasn’t very indepth and it made me want to read it. This makes me want to shove everything aside and read it NOW, as you often do Heidi. DOGGONE IT HEIDI. My TBR is already ridiculous. But seriously, this sounds awesome, like I would gobble it up and crave the candy too (the other reviewer said the same thing!). Also, I think both of my girls (age 9) would like this one. So this might be one we get and take turns fighting over. Thanks gal!

    • Heidi says:

      Yes, THAT Book of Lost Things! 😛

      This could be a great one of your to fight over (*ahem* share) with your girls! Though yes, it’s a lot like watching Willie Wonka…you want snacks around.

  3. elena says:

    I LOVE fairytales + middle grade reads so I really want to read this one! RUDE over the stepmom’s comment, that was unnecessary. I can tell my sweet tooth will really kick in in this book. :)

    • Heidi says:

      It will! Have snacks. 😛

      And yes, if you love MG and fairy tales, I think this is one certainly worth checking out. I was really surprised by it.

  4. I’m so bummed I didn’t get this one through NG, because it looks (and sounds) amazing. I am always on the lookout for books I can read with my 9 yr. old son, and this looks like something we would both love. He has a penchant for darker books, I can’t imagine where on EARTH he could have gotten it from;)

    Thanks for the recommendation, Heidi. Mason and I will be purchasing this one for sure when it releases:)

    • Heidi says:

      Yay! I hope that both you and your son enjoy this one. I thought it was appropriately dark for the age, and really fun. Plus, it dealt with some really great issues that can make kids think.

  5. […] The Sweetest Spell by Suzanne Selfors | Goodreads|Amazon The Raft by S.A. Bodeen | Goodreads|Amazon The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid Academy by Nikki Loftin | Goodreads|Amazon|My Review […]

  6. Jasmine Rose says:

    I was already excited for this one, but now I’m like “GIVE ME NOW!”
    Fantastic review 😀

  7. […] The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid Academy by Nikki Loftin […]

  8. […] Tuesday night I attended yet another wonderful book event at Books of Wonder in Manhattan, this time featuring three Middle Grade authors who have recently published spooky reads–perfect for Halloween!  Since you probably can’t see from my slightly blurry picture, the authors were Claire Legrand–The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, Adam-Troy Castro–Gustav Gloom and the People Takers, Nikki Loftin–The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid Academy (which I’ve already read, loved, and reviewed here). […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

RSS FeedE-mailTwitterGoodreads
TumblrFacebookBloglovinYouTube

My Current Bunbury

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Archives

FTC Disclaimer

While the source for each book I review is posted within its review, please assume unless otherwise stated that books reviewed on Bunbury in the Stacks were received free from the author or publisher in exchange for an honest review.
YAckers